RSS

Diversity.

17 Feb

Besides worrying about what teddy bear to pick or what chocolate heart sends the perfect message for that special someone on Valentine’s day, there is something else significant about February. No, not that it’s the shortest month of the year. Black history month! It seems black history month, as well as some other holidays, has lost their uumph. When I was younger I could count on having an extensive biography project on some influential person in African-American history. Now, I may see a poster on a forum or an article, but not anything that attracts me.

However, the subject of diversity comes up a lot in February. As a junior in college I have to start preparing for my post-grad transition into the real world. As an African- American woman, I feel it is important to know how others before me have entered into the field of Public Relations. Professor Andrews suggested some blogs by black PR professionals. The one that I was intrigued the most by was Mike Paul’s interview. Mike Paul, the president of MGP & Associates PR, made some really valid points. I agreed with his view on retention. I believe that it takes more than hiring and training someone to help the diversity cause. To get dedicated, success-driven grads on board at a company or firm and keep them will ultimately bring in more minorities. I myself even have doubts of joining a company if I walk in and don’t get a get a sense of diversity.

I also read Natalie Tindall’s blog on the subject, and she made me aware of an issue. The PR industry hasn’t done a good job of showing PR as a career option for minorities. I agree with Tindall in it is important to get the message out to minorities. In result of a revolutionary society that embraces a multicultural attitude, the need for more ethnic practitioners is increasing.

Check out the articles for more great points:

Natalie Tindall, Diversity and PR: Progression Made, but Challenges remain http://prsay.prsa.org/index.php/2012/02/08/diversity-and-pr-progress-made-but-challenges-remain/

Brian Pittman, The White Face of PR: What Black History Month Means to PR Firms- and Obama’s “White House”

http://blog.commpro.biz/?p=3664

 

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on February 17, 2012 in PR blog

 

Leave a comment